Control

When mulling over a philosophical problem or antinomy, I have found that it can be conducive to well reasoned thinking to indulge in some improvisation on a musical instrument. On Sunday I was writing an entry on a Kantian perspective on gun ownership, and took a break to play a little guitar, during which time this riff came to me. I feel it nicely represents the eery dystopian future of excessive and brutal violence caused by unrestricted access to firearms, a future that feels closer and closer at hand. As such, I’m sharing this little piece because it represents an emotional reaction to an issue I have been attempting to discuss with as little appeal to emotion as possible, thus representing another side of that debate.

The photos are from my visit to a separatist art collective in Vermont, and the work is their’s and not mine.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by guymax on February 2, 2014 - 8:23 am

    Nice riff – once brought to life by the overdubbed single notes. It occurs to me that ‘Dystopia’ might be a good band name.

    • #2 by ausomeawestin on February 2, 2014 - 2:13 pm

      Thanks! Yeah it’s more of a funky walking bass line riff for the minimalistic chord progression, but I think it establishes a certain vibe.

Leave a Reply

