Descartes’ Song

In reviewing my ‘about’ page (narcissistic, I know) I noticed that I said that I would write on music and caffein, besides just philosophy and politics. I wrote an entry on one of my favorite rock groups, Queens of the Stone Age, but I haven’t done anything else on music. With that in mind, I have decided to share a cruddy demo of a song I wrote on solipsism a few years ago, in keeping with the solipsistic theme I touched on yesterday with my entry on Inception.

I apologize for the crappy video, this is the first one I’ve made, and I would have elected to just show one unchanging photo if I knew how, but iMovie seemed to require I add photos for four second intervals of time until the end of the song. Some context: the photos were taken using a crappy digital camera in the middle of the night (probably 5 or 6 in the morning) my senior year of college, so I was most likely very drunk (on a positive note I’m approaching 90 days off the sauce).

Anyways, the lyrics are:

Today, I woke up and I was still dreaming.
Staring at the ceiling, I found no purpose or reason.

And I knew I was dreaming because I had a feeling.
But now I don’t know anymore if I was ever awake before, because it’s like…

Today, I woke up and I was still dreaming.
Staring at the ceiling I found no purpose of reason, ‘cause I’m dreaming.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

